top of page

Karen Bradley “not convinced” by Dominic Cummings’ explanation



Staffordshire Moorlands MP, Karen Bradley is the latest conservative MP to speak out about the Dominic Cummings controversy after he drove 260 miles during the height of the coronavirus lockdown.

Karen has said she isn’t convinced by his explanation and that he is causing significant damage to the work the government has put in and that he should recognise this and consider his position.


Her statement reads


“I would like to thank the many many people who have written to me about Mr Cummings and his actions and I want to assure you that I have every sympathy with you and your views.


Over the last few weeks, the British people have been asked to make the most enormous personal sacrifices. I have been so proud of the way that people in Staffordshire Moorlands have behaved and that the vast majority have followed the rules. We have all done everything asked of us because we were told that doing so would save lives.


I wanted to give Mr Cummings a chance to make his case before passing judgement and not rush to comment until hearing his account of what happened. Having done so, I am afraid that I am not convinced by his explanation. I can well understand that any parent wants to protect their child, and have enormous sympathy with acting to do that. But so much of the account goes beyond that simple human instinct and suggests that there were breaches of the rules to avoid some of the hardships that many have endured.


I want you to know that I have shared your views at the highest level. Mr Cummings is, in my view causing significant damage to the work that the Government are doing to get us through the pandemic. I hope that he will recognise this and consider his position.


I have read the stories of personal sacrifice you and many others have made. We expect those that lead us to lead by example, especially those with such a significant influence on Government. I can reach no other conclusion than that for the sake of this country, Mr Cummings should do the right thing now and stop damaging the work that needs to be done.“

2 views

Kommentare


Vintage Radios

Advertise with us

bottom of page